New cards stay in "learning" status forever Please Help!

I have been using Anki desktop with Windows 10 and the AnkiMobile ios 2.0.86 for several years to study vocabulary. Both the ios app and the desktop version have been prompting me to update to the 2.1 scheduler for a while, but I have been ignoring it because everything has been working fine so far.

This morning the app told me that I needed to update to use it. I did a full sync upload to the Anki server, but then the upgrade button disappeared. Now when I am studying new cards they stay in the red “learning” status no matter how many times I click the green “good” button.

I tried updating the desktop version to 2.1.49 and the desktop version in doing the same thing. I tried updating to 2.1.51 Qt5 and it makes no difference. As far as I can tell the ios 2.0.86 is the latest version of the software.

I use Anki everyday to study 400 - 500 vocabulary cards. Not studying for just one day would make it really hard to catch up. I really don’t know what I will do if I can’t use Anki anymore. I can’t figure out how to fix this problem. Can I somehow revert back to the previous version that worked for me? I saved a backup before I tried updating.

Thanks for any help.

Try starting the program with add ons disabled.

https://faqs.ankiweb.net/when-problems-occur.html

1 Like

Hi. Thank you. I don’t think I am using any add ons, just the basic program, but I tried it anyway. It is still giving me the same issue.

Strange. Have you also tried the other steps in the FAQ (#4 and #5 in particular)?

If so, I would try to restart the program and import your backup again.

Btw, do you have the same problem in Ankiweb?

I checked the database and it had no problems and have also tried restarting my computer. I hadn’t tried Ankiweb before, but checking just now, yes the same problem is occurring there as well.

Can you please post a screenshoot of your deck options here?