Copy an existing deck completely

Hello,

I would like to copy a deck completely in order to make changes in the copy.
As I am a newcomer to Anki, I would like to try out changes to the card type etc. without destroying the original deck.

Question: what is the best way to proceed?
As I am a beginner to Anki, I would appreciate small step by small step instructions.

Additional question:
The original deck contains about 9000 records.
It would be enough for me to copy “only” 200 records from the original into a new deck to be created, whereby the structure of the old deck should be preserved.
Question: what is the best way to proceed?

Thank you, Peter El Salvador

PS.:
I’ve found a similar request in this forum, but till now, it wasn’t answered yet.
Therefore, I dare to ask again, sorry, lo siento, Entschuldigung

1 Like

For experimenting with changes, you can export your collection, then use file>switch profile to create a test profile, and you can import a copy of your collection into it.

1 Like

Dear Dea,
thanks for your advice, I’ll try it the next day.

One question:
Can I finally export the content of the deck from the “test profile” to my original profile?

Regard Peter El Salvador

Do you mean, can you export a deck from one profile and then import it into another profile? If so, then yes, you can.

One thing to be aware of though is that existing items can’t be updated if the note type has been modified, so you’d need to remove the notes from your source collection before trying to import them back again.

Since you apparently want to export decks not to share it, but just to try out a few things one it, and then push the modifications to the original deck, you could also achieve the same result by backuping your deck, then modifying directly, and if you are not satisfied you can revert it to the backuped one.

Dear Dae,

thanks for the suggestions, not only from you.

The suggestions you made to me for copying a deck seem rather “complicated” to me.