Card design advice - record voice for text memorization

Hi all. I have been using Anki for a few months, and I have really come to love it. Now I am investigating whether to use it for memorizing text (Bible passages in my case) rather than a different program I am using, and I would like advice on setting up the design of the card and the app preferences for optimum use. Note that I always use iOS (both iPad or iPhone depending on where I am) for study, and I always use desktop (Mac) for adding/managing cards.

The idea is that I would see a reference (card front), I would quote the text out loud, and then I would read the text (card back) to see whether I quoted it correctly. I see doing this in two scenarios:

1. I study with the help of a partner who would be the one operating Anki on the iPad. The partner would tell me the reference and click through to the card back, following along with the text on the card back as I quote. The partner could tell me the anything I may have misquoted.

2. I study by myself, using the “record voice” feature, where I see the card front, record myself quoting the verse, and then reveal the text and listen to my recording to confirm that I quoted correctly.

The reason I am asking for advice is for the case where I need to record my voice, because so far it is a rather clunky experience in my tests. For example:

1. The front of the card is displayed, showing only the reference.
  2. Tap once to activate “Record Voice.” Then tap again to select “Record Voice” that pops up.
  3. Record my voice quoting the passage and then tap “Finish.”
  4. Then my recording automatically plays back again, which is not helpful while still on the card front. I have to tap cancel.
  5. Advance to the back of the card, revealing the text.
  6. Tap once to activate “Record Voice,” then tap again to select “Replay Voice.”