Use a different versioning system? SemVer, perhaps?

As an addon developer I find Anki’s versioning a bit… unfortunate. Specifically, I have a problem with Anki not using patch versioning.

A lot of users are stuck with older versions of Anki since they need addons that do not support later Anki versions. So I also want to support a few older versions. The problem with this is, from Anki version numbers I can’t tell which versions I should test against and which I should ignore.

For instance, Anki 2.1.49 was a “stable” version. Anki 2.1.52 was just released. Two versions ago 2.1.50 was released. All of these, from the numbes, appear equal. But 2.1.50 was quite broken and is unlikely to be used by anyone, and 2.1.51 is unlikely to be used too. So how do I know to test against Anki 2.1.49 and 2.1.52 only?

If Anki was using SemVer, 2.1.50 could be released as something like 87.0.0, 2.1.51 as 87.0.1 and 2.1.52 as 87.0.2. 2.1.49 would have been something like 86.0.5 maybe. So I would know to test against 86.0.5 and 87.0.2 only, and when a new patch arrives, it would have the form 87.0.3 and then I know that I should abandon testing with 87.0.2 and test with 87.0.3 instead.

(I used a large major version number since Anki changes its API a lot. However, since Anki’s “API” are ill-defined and oftentimes I have to use private methods, I have no big opinion on how major version should work.)

Is the current versioning scheme useful for anyone? Why not change it?

1 Like

I did see that topic, but I don’t think it ever mentions the problem with patches. Since this is a separate issue, I made a new topic.

Also I don’t see the answer of how the current system is useful. It seems that the argument is that 2.0 → 2.1 was a rather big change, what with Python version change and Qt version change from 4 to 5, and recent changes such as Qt version change to 6 is smaller, and so doesn’t warrant minor version change? I’m not sure how this makes the current versioning system useful?