True "Learning Mode"

I am a retired psychologist and am using Anki to learn a language. One of the problems to avoid is learning something that is wrong. Once a mistake “feels” right it is inclined to be repeated. If the wrong answer is learned it is more difficult to “unlearn” it in the process of “relearning” the correct association. I propose a mode where the front side and the back side of the card are presented at the same time in order to achieve the correct association from the beginning - no guessing. How can that be done?

1 Like

With the default settings, both sides are shown at once when you reveal the answer. There is no simple way to change Anki to show both sides on the question, other than modifying your card template and changing it back later.

1 Like

Dae:

Thank you for your response. As I noted in my e-mail, I think it should be a serious programming consideration to facilitate the initial learning process. Without this, the only initial association is when data is entered for the cards. Even that may be non-existent if the cards are imported.

When I am learning my vocabulary I don’t guess the translation of the foreign word on the list, and if I would do that, I would most certainly guess wrong and that wrong answer would inhibit learning the correct translation.

I am not a programmer, but there already is an option “answer” which gives the front and back of the card. The initial learning option would do that but with no delay and no guessing inclination (especially with false cognates).

Murray

I’m no psychologist or linguist, but there’s an inherent assumption that you first learn the word or concept, then use Anki to reinforce the learning,

1 Like

Khs: