Suggestions please

I am an instructor and I want to create flash cards for commercial pilot training students. There are scores of subject areas each of which contain hundreds of facts. Regulations, navigation, systems, airspace and many others. Each of these have many distinctly different subtopics. I need help with how to arrange them. Here’s what I have considered so far so please tell me if this is on the right track.

One or a few main decks each covering main topics such as refs others for airspace for example. Sub decks for subtopics so that they can be studied independently from each other. All of the cards with tags so that students can Find all cards covering airspace regs for example.

The problem with sub decks is that the speed intervals place emphasis on the first subdecks and leave the later sub decks so that the learning limits may not cover them adaquatly.

So what is a good way to organize such a massive catagorized subject? This field is enormous much like medicine.

Any suggestions.

Tex

Is there any way to arrange the decks in an order where the topics go down top-down rather than across each higher level? I must say this is one of the classical knowledge hierarchy problems.

My limited knowledge of anki prompts my question so I may be thinking wrong to start with.

Here’s what I think I know.

Sub decks, while convenient for organization, has the problem that if a student selects the main deck the the limit quota comes from the sub decks in alphabetical order therefore the last sub deck might not be covered if the limit has been substantially reached from the sub decks above it.

That tends to suggest one deck with no sub decks. But one big deck is too broad for this type of knowledge base.