Strange scheduling+import since upp'ing to 2.1.30

Four days ago I upgraded from 2.1.21 to 2.1.30 and since then I’ve been having strange scheduling issues on one of my main decks that I’ve been using for over two years.

First off, when I re-import (which is every day, as I work on the notes in a text file) several times Anki said it has found a lot of changes (e.g., 42 cards) even though I’ve only edited a few.

What is that, is Anki maybe converting some html tags now?

Then there is the scheduling issue.

The screenshot says it all: Hard is at 10 (which is normal for this card) but Good is at 1, so when I swipe right without thinking I end up pushing lots of familiar cards back to the top of the stack… Not fun the next day.

Even though the screenshot is from Ankidroid I do all my importing and a bit of editing on Desktop so the two are always in sync.

Thought a negative step might have come in by mistake, but that’s not the case, my steps are the same as always:
2 15 1440 5760 14400

I’ve been on v2 scheduler for six months and happy with it.

Would greatly appreciate any troubleshooting hints!
Thanks in advance.

If you restore from a backup in a separate profile, you can locate the notes that were updated and compare them - perhaps their HTML code is slightly different.

As for the scheduling issue, I suspect this is your settings rather than any change in Anki - you likely have increased the learning steps without changing the graduating interval and easy interval.

Hi Damian,

Thank you for your reply!

Your hunch that the graduating interval had changed was absolutely correct!

However, this is something that Anki did, not me. How do I know, apart from the fact that I hadn’t opened Options recently? I reviewed the options for four of my decks that live in different option groups, and lo-and-behold, the graduating interval was now 1 instead of 30 — in all groups!