Reporting outdated translations

While translating descriptions for deck config in Pontoon I found deck-config-new-card-sort-order-tooltip-2 (New cards sort order setting) to mention siblings burying setting, which apparently doesn’t exist anymore, since the localization string for deck-config-bury-siblings (Bury siblings setting) is grouped as NO NEED TO TRANSLATE. I am not sure if this counts for bug report or where to report it.

I also posted about this on Anki Discord in #ankidroid-translations channel.

It’s not clear to me what you’re reporting. Translation strings aren’t necessarily deleted from the system when they stop being used in the code. They might be marked that they don’t need to be translated anymore. What’s the problem?

[If you can’t post direct links to the translation systems because your account is so new, post them `as text between backticks`.]

Edited:
From your post in Discord:

The sblings burrying setting seems to be removed, since I haven’t come across one, but is still mentioned in description of “New card sort order” deck setting: Pontoon

Are you saying that you think the sibling burying feature doesn’t exist anymore? Sure, it does. Deck Options - Anki Manual

“GROUP COMMENT NO NEED TO TRANSLATE. This text is no longer used by Anki, and will be removed in the future.”
2023 year
Just because this line has been removed doesn’t mean it can’t be used. For example, in add-on development, especially if it’s for an older version.
Usually, old code isn’t removed; it’s unclear where it’s still being used. But here, it’s just a translation of two words into different languages. If we need to revert it, everything is already there.
So I don’t know when they’ll remove this line, probably never :slight_smile:

(post deleted by author)

Yes, that’s from the description for “Card type, then order gathered.”

Please note – You shouldn’t commit text to the system unless it’s ready to be published in the app. You don’t know when a build will be made and translations will be pulled as-is. Those “TODO” notes should be removed immediately.

If you need to leave some of the original text in English (i.e. only partially translate a long string), that’s fine – but come up with another way to mark outside of the text that you want to return and edit this one.

It’s fixed now. I also edited the reply to what it was supposed to be.

That would be funny beta release if lucky.

No, seriously, I’ll be setting only checked finished translation, but I am sure I may find some inconsistency or little flows that spellcheck software didn’t catch when using alpha/beta release with my translations.

Typos that need to be corrected later are understandable. My point is that you don’t control whether your translated strings are pulled into an alpha build, a beta build, or a final release build – and you can’t predict when the next build will be, if something needs to be corrected. So don’t save alpha/beta translations to the system.

Realization
Within the description it mentions following: If you have sibling burying disabled, this will ensure all front→back cards are seen before any back→front cards. This is useful to have all cards of the same note shown in the same session, but not too close to one another., so the sibling burying stands for having at least one of the settings: Burying new/review/interday learning sibling disabled, while the cathegory is named just “Burying”, not “Burying Siblings”? I guess I got it wrong (in speculation).

Speculation
I understand the benefits of keeping legacy localizations strings (may they stay forever), but it marks those that are no longer in anki, which I could very easily check in AnkiDroid and these two: probably old config option Pontoon and its description Pontoon make it seem to me that the current description “New cards sort order” description Pontoon mentions this legacy setting.

When description mentions another config option it’s usually in the same category/panel or close by.