Rebuilding Filtered Decks

Hello all,

I have a question about rebuilding filtered decks.

I created filtered decks using various specified tags, and I use these to review daily. After my reviews, I go back to main deck, unsuspend new cards (with my specified tag for the filtered deck).

In order to get these newly unsuspended cards into the filtered deck, I have to rebuild the filtered deck. When I do this, the newly unsuspended cards are added to the filtered deck (as expected) but all of the cards that I had reviewed earlier that day from the filtered deck reappear in the review column as if I haven’t reviewed at all today.

I’m sorry if this isn’t clear, I’m new to Anki and trying my best to understand what I’m doing wrong/ fixing this issue ASAP.

Any help/advice would be much appreciated!

When you create your filtered deck, you just answer as “wrong” and “right” - or something similar?
If so, you’ve probably put an option so that your filtered deck isn’t considered a review.
If not, I will try to look for other ways of thinking…

I’ve made sure I checked the “Reschedule cards based on my answers in this deck” option and when I go through the review cards in my filtered deck, I get the usual ‘Again’, ‘hard’, ‘good’, ‘easy’ options. I usually pick ‘good’ and move on until i finish all the review for the day before unsuspending new cards from original deck.

With the old scheduler, cards in learning and relearning are reset when emptying (or rebuilding) a filtered deck. The solution is to update your Anki and enable the new scheduler.

https://faqs.ankiweb.net/the-anki-2.1-scheduler.html

If your filtered deck uses a search like “deck:foo”, that will include any cards from deck foo, regardless of whether they’ve been studied today or not. If you adjust the search to something like ‘deck:foo is:due’, that will only include cards that are currently due.

https://docs.ankiweb.net/searching.html#card-state

1 Like