New Anki user asking for advice

Good day to everyone,

I recently started learning Japanese and also just discovered Anki. Seems a great idea to use Anki for it. I read through the manual and I’m kind of lost because there are so many configuration options in Anki. Which is definitely a good thing, but because of that, I don’t know how to do what I’m trying to do or if it is even possible. I also read the FAQ and the forum topics, but didn’t really find anything that could give me a hint on how to proceed. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

For those that don’t know: Japanese has multiple scripts that can be used interchangeably. To simplify, most words can be written in their Kanji form or in either Hiragana or Katakana, depending on the word. Of course it makes sense to group this information together when learning it, and as far as I understand it, that’s what Anki uses fields for, correct? I was trying to create some templates, because I think that is the way to do what I want.

I want to enter a new note in the form of these three pieces of info into fields:

1. an English word or phrase
  2. the matching Hiragana or Katakana form in Japanese
  3. the matching Kanji form in Japanese

Then I would like Anki to create 6 different types of cards from that note, in order to learn all the scripts equally:

• English to Hiragana/Katakana
  • Hiragana/Katakana to English
  • English to Kanji
  • Kanji to English
  • Hiragana/Katakana to Kanji
  • Kanji to Hiragana/Katakana

I created some templates, but Anki keeps telling me that there is a problem, because the front sides of card types 1 and 3 are identical. Of course they are, because it’s the same word/phrase that just corresponds to a different representation of the answer, that I intend to learn separately.

Is this the correct way to go about it? How else could I do what I’m trying to achieve? I would be very thankful for any hints to point me in the right direction.