My time intervals change based on the time of day I am studying at?

First of all, let me preface by saying I’m still kind of new to anki but I really like it so far although I’m really not using anki as it was intended to be used. I’m a grad student and I have block exams pretty much every 1-2 weeks in more than one course. We often don’t get the last bit of material to study until 2-3 days before the date of the exam, meaning if I used anki properly I would only get to learn the new material and never get to review it.

Because of this, I have tinkered with my settings a fair bit, and I found a system/interval that works for me given the amount of time I actually have to learn and review the material but I notice sometimes, anki doesn’t follow it how i want and I’m not sure if I changed something or if anki normally does this and if so, if I can change it.

Ultimately I want my cards to appear with the following options:
While learning, I want my intervals set to be 20 minutes, 1 hour, 8 hours, and 1 day.
If I pick hard I want it to bring it back in 20 minutes repeatedly until I pick good.
If I pick good, I want it to bring it back in 1 hour, then 8 hours then 8 hours again if good is picked consecutively.
If I pick easy, I want it to bring it back in 1 day, then every day afterwards.