issue w/ sharing decks

Hello,

I’m a high school Spanish teacher and have been using Anki with my students for the past six or seven years. It is incredibly effective and my students themselves recognize how well it works and how superior it is to all other flashcard systems out there.

In beginning the school year this week, I did as I always do and got my students set up on Anki. After installing the software and creating AnkiWeb accounts, I then shared a mini-deck (I have about 15) with their first set of (187) cards for a particular curricular unit. Again, I’ve done this hundreds of times over the years without any issue, but this time for whatever reason when students imported the one mini-deck that I shared, ALL OF MY MINI-DECKS appeared in their Anki, not just the one I shared. Can you explain why this happened or what I can do in the future to avoid it from happening again? My work around this time was to have them delete all of the other mini-decks minus the one I wanted them to have, but I don’t understand what changed from years past or why this happened.

Any information you can give me is greatly appreciated!

Thank you very much for Anki! It is one of the key elements of my very successful pedagogy.

Kindly,
Francisco Teixeira

That sounds odd - did you share it via the AnkiWeb site, or via a local export + distributing an .apkg? If the former, is the deck still online, so I can try importing it to see if the problem is reproducible?

And thank you for the kind words :slight_smile:

Hi Damien,

Thanks for the reply. I shared the .apkg file with my students via their Gmail accounts. Unlike in the past, this time Gmail asked if the people with whom I was sharing the upload item should be “viewer, editor, commenter, etc.”. I chose “editor” not thinking it mattered. Maybe that was the reason?