How to undo downgrade?

Hi,

I have only one version of Anki installed on my Mac:

Version ⁨2.1.54 (b6a7760c)⁩
Python 3.9.7 Qt 6.3.1 PyQt 6.3.1

I clicked “Download & Quit” w/o really needing to… I just wanted to see what it would do. It said:

“Profiles can now be opened with an older version of Anki.”

Now I’m worried I did something to my collection that can’t be undone… like maybe downgrading my collection so that it can’t use all of features of the current version of Anki or prevent some add-ons from running properly.

What exactly does the “Downgrade & Quit” button do, please? And can the downgrade be undone since I don’t really need to downgrade (I always use the most current version).

The docs say that it downgrade my collection. The dialog message says just mentions profiles. A little confused…

Thanks.

Cheers,
Curious Cat

Not sure what exactly the downgrade do but if you are worried, you can restore from backup.

Downgrading only transforms your collection into a form earlier Anki clients can understand. It doesn’t change anything permanently. As soon as you open your profile with a recent Anki version, it will be upgraded again and you shouldn’t even notice.

2 Likes