Add a mind map feature please

I’m a deep fan of Anki. I have been using Anki to study new knowledge points for many years. Actually, I made nearly 20000 cards myself now. But I think Anki has a huge flaw. These cards are isolated from each other. Users cannot make a reasonable knowledge structure by these isolated cards.

Suggestion:
Can we add a feature that allows these already created cards to be displayed in a mind map mode? And allow us to edit the structure of this mind map artificially so that certain relationships are created from card to card.
Now we can’t even reference another card from a card, which I have to say is a tragedy.

7 Likes

Just want to bump this up. I also think this is a huge missing feature in Anki. I don’t always use Anki to only test knowledge I use it to organize knowledge.

I do this by lots of nesting in decks (which Anki doesn’t like). If I transfer the deck to somewhere else I have to export it in pieces.

Having a mindmap for anki based on nested decks would really bring Anki to life. Then being able to go into decks from the mind map would be great.

1 Like

Have you tried using the pop-up dictionary add-on? I think it fills this niche quite nicely.

1 Like

I used to keep a second Add-window open on another monitor (Opening the same window multiple time - AnkiWeb) and set up Searching, PDF Reading & Note-Taking in Add Dialog - AnkiWeb to only show search results.

While you’re typing, this will show you related notes with thumbnails and you can open a separate edit-window by clicking them.

Last time I checked, it was incompatible with Collapsible Fields though… just checked, works again :slight_smile:

While I think manual note linking - which many people suggest - would over-complicate things, a cross-platform (JS-API) way to automatically show related notes (Tags, Keywords) on review could be good way to form stronger associations.

1 Like