Tiered Study Options for Big Decks?

I really don’t know what to call this, so I’m probably missing where this is explained. I downloaded a big deck and want to study just the notes with a certain tag first and just some of the cards for those notes. (But I want the order randomized within the tag.) Ideally, when I ran out of those, it would add another tag or another kind of card. Custom study lets me sort by tags, but it seems to be intended for one-time use, not a replacement for the regular study order.

1. Is duplicating the deck and deleting the extra card types (and later copy-pasting them back in) the best way to only study some of the cards on the first go-around?
  2. Is there an easy way to divide a deck into “tiers” to have some control of the order of new cards but not specify an exact order?
  3. (less important) I’m studying multiple decks at once, and right now I’m studying them one at a time. I tried nesting them all in a new deck and studying that, but every time it switches decks I have to read the heading that I added to the cards so I’d know what I’m looking at, and then I have to identify what information I’m supposed to be recalling. (For example, if I get a Hebrew print character, I want to remember the name and the script character. It it’s a Japanese kana, I want to remember the sound/romaji and the stroke order.) It seems useful to let Anki decide how many new things to introduce based on everything I’m currently studying, but not if it’s going to slow me down or make me leave out some of the information I want to recall. Is there a better way to do this?

This sounds like a job for filtered decks using tags as the search.

2 Likes

Also, a common startegy is suspending the whole deck and unsuspending some cards (usually with a certain tag) whenever you’re ready for the next batch.

As for your third question, that sounds like your card design could be improved.