Swipes left/right are registered only half of the time

Especially swipe right. I have to do it 3-5 times for it to be registered. This defeats the whole idea of swipe-based controls.

I really can’t predict at which location of the card I have to do the swipe and how to get it robustly registered.

So far I consider swipes left and right registration to be completely broken on AnkiMobile which is unfortunate given the serious price paid for the app.

Context: I’m studying some HSK decks.

1 Like

It works reliably for me. Please make sure you are swiping from the edge of the screen, as mentioned in the swipe settings.

1 Like

I am using my smartphone with one hand. I do not have fingers long enough to reach left and right edge. Using two hands for holding the phone and swipes almost defeats the convenience of swipes.

Any other apps do not have such restrictions, so it’s very inconvenient :frowning:

Swipes need to start from the side of the screen to avoid conflicts with other gestures like scrolling. If your hand can reach to one edge, that will allow you to trigger swipes in three directions. If you need access to one other action, you could reassign one of the tap zones instead, or use the tools button or the top quickbar.

Well, other apps like Safari have no problems distinguishing scrolling and swipes.

In current/default state of affairs, swipes are super-hard to use with a single-hand holding the phone, especially with large phone screen :frowning: Basically, I can’t reach both left and right sides of the screen with my thumb.

With this swipe regime, I don’t need any tap zones besides the buttons in the bottom of the screen (for detailed feedback). For crude feedback, it would be nice to use just two swipes: good/bad like in other apps.

So I’d vote for including a “simplified” feedback regime supporting reliable left/right (and maybe also bottom/up) swipes without restrictions on starting the swipe exactly on the edge of the screen.