Support for various file types (ogg, mp4, html5)

I’m a bit new to ios and I just bought ankimobile today from the app store. After some googling I found out that the iphone and ipad have never supported ogg. I make the majority of my flashcards directly from mpv (mpvacious and a similar subs2srs add-on), so I’m trying hard to keep the study process flowing. I can change the outputs to mp3 for now, but since I’ve read that VLC manages to play ogg files on ios, I’m wondering if this is a feature that can be implemented.

Additionally, I’ve been able to create some video flashcards but they’re not playing on my iphone at all. I can cut mp4 files directly into a flashcard and these types of videos work on my ankidroid app. But it’s also not running on ankimobile.

Any solution for either of these issues? (Besides getting another android phone?)

About mp4 not working on AnkiMobile, it’s odd, considering it was added as [sound:filename.mp4], everything was synced and Tools > Check Media doesn’t report anything missing. Just in case, I’d probably make a new card using this bigbuckbunny.mp4 file as it should work on AnkiMobile, and if it works maybe MediaInfo could give some hints why the original video file doesn’t work on AnkiMobile.

About ogg,

According to Apple adding WebM audio codec support to Safari with iOS 15 - 9to5Mac

Safari in iOS 15 Beta 5 adds support for the HTML5 “audio” tag to play the Opus audio codec (only) inside of a standalone MP4 file (only).

I don’t have an iPhone, but here’s a sample deck for anyone who’d like to test bbb-opus.mp4 with AnkiMobile. It’s about 10MB. The front side contains the audio file added as [sound:audio.mp4] and the back side contains HTML5 Audio that is not officially supported and might not work, or might work but autoplay by default won’t work.

изображение

1 Like

Thanks for the thoughtful reply. That’s a bit of a bummer about ogg, but I understand.