Question About Handling New Cards

Hello everyone,

I’ve been using Anki (mostly on Android) for a year now, and I have a question. When you see a new card for the first time, you’re supposed to be discovering it, so you wouldn’t know the answer yet. Do you always press the red “again” button for each card’s first appearance? Is this how you handle new cards as well?

If I don’t know it I use Again yes. Not everytime though. Sometimes I do know the answer if I’m studying for school. Any particular reason you are asking this now after a year?

For a long time, I used to answer “correct,” but this recently caused issues with the new FSRS algorithm. I just want to make sure I’m using Anki in the best way possible. Thanks for your response!

That’s not necessarily the case. For instance #1 of the Twenty Rules is, “Do not learn if you do not understand.” At its heart, spaced repetition is about memorizing things you already know about, so you wouldn’t be discovering information for the first time on a flashcard.

But, as you might imagine, the situation might be different depending on your subject of study, your reason for studying, whether you made the cards yourself, etc. Maybe at one end of the spectrum you could put – “studying for a class, and wrote every note/card myself” – at the other end – “recreational learner, and using premade decks” – with many permutations in between.

Regardless of where you fall on those spectra, your priority should be to grade your answers honestly and accurately for every card. If you are a language-learner with words in your pre-made deck you’ve never even thought about – yes, you should be grading those Again the first time you see them (and maybe even the 2nd-3rd-4th…). But if this is a word you just created a note for last week after stumbling upon it and studying it a bit – maybe it’s not all that new to you, and another grade would be more correct.

They are mostly words and phrases in a foreign language.