Missing audio files

I’m new to the iOS app and have just synced my decks. A lot of the audio files are missing for some reason and cards with audio on the desktop version now have no audio. I hit sync a couple of times but the media check button still shows 2k missing audio files. How can I get these to play?

Please read Media files may take time to sync - Frequently Asked Questions. Does it solve your issue?

1 Like

Thanks, I did do that. I’ve since deleted and synced several times, staying on the detail screen until sync is complete. I have the same 2k audio files missing each time. I can see them in the desktop folder and they play fine. I have also double checked that the sync options are enabled on both.

Not sure if it’s relevant but when I sync, it asks me to sync from ankiweb rather than my desktop?

Ah! This makes me wonder: have you synced Anki Desktop too?

A little background. Syncing works like this:

AnkiWeb
β”Œβ”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”˜β”‚  │└──────────┐
Client 1β”Œβ”€β”€β”€β”˜  └─────────┐ Client 4
     Client 2          Client 3