Anki Forums

Learning curve for anki

I am struggling here. I am a college professor training commercial pilots and instructor pilots. The amount of knowledge that must be learned is enormous as you might suspect.

I’m torn about using anki instead of another app such as quizlet. Students are already sold on the idea of flashcards as a way of learning. But there seems to be a learning curve for anki. I understand that it is probably better because of the space repetition. But if a student finds anki too complicated to just pick up and start using then they won’t.

And the hundreds of hours I’m going to spend to create the decks will be for nothing. So from a effort/reward point of view is quizlet better or am I missing something here?

Is there a simple way to use anki that most students won’t have to struggle to use. Learning aircraft systems is hard enough. Having to learn a software package just to get a fancy flash card app will cause many students to just write their own cards.

Tex

2 Likes

The learning curve is steep primarily for deck creators. For users, it isn’t that bad (but probably still more than quizlet).

If you provide your students with a correctly set up deck, they should’t need to learn anything apart from downloading it and syncing between desktop and mobile.

1 Like

It really depends on what level of self-reliance you expect from your students.

If you want to share a pre-made deck with them all they have to do is to download it, click “show answer” and rate themselves.

All basic usage is covered in youtube videos and described in documentation. I think, it is a starting point for everyone who wants to use Anki. You can choose these which you find useful and do a learning Anki session for your students.