Audio doesn't play for new cards as of today

Hello,

I’ve been using the AnkiDroid app to study the Core 2k/6k Optimized Japanese Vocabulary pack for quite a while now. When I opened it today, I discovered that none of the new cards could play any audio, and a message was popping up:

So far I’ve tried syncing, updating the app as I’ve been using an older version and syncing again, checking the same cards on Ankiweb both on my Android and laptop, downloading the Anki app for windows on my laptop, and so forth. The audio can’t be played anywhere, and I’m not sure how to proceed.

The weird thing is that the audio for all of my review cards plays normally, and the audio for new cards was playing normally when I studied yesterday. It’s just today’s new cards that have this problem. I checked the new cards ahead just to see if it was just a small batch of cards that had this problem, but I checked more than 80 cards ahead and they all seemed to have the same problem. I might’ve found one single card among them that could play the first part of the audio, but I’m not sure what that says exactly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

P.S. Apologies if the format of this post is not correct, I’m quite new to this.

1 Like

[Moved this from the Add-ons category, since it isn’t add-on related, and appears to happening for you across all platforms.]

I think the error at the bottom of your screen tells you pretty much what you need to know (and I’m curious where that “Help” link takes you…). Anki seems to be saying it doesn’t have that file, so it can’t play it.

If you run Check Media, Anki will give you a list of files that are referenced on your cards but not in your collection.media folder.

Thanks for the quick reply!

First of all, this is where it takes me when I press that help button:

I also tried to run Check Media, and this is what I got: