Are add-ons still unavailable on iPad (AnkiMobile)?

Hi everyone! Through my little search on the forum it appears that add-ons are not available on iPad’s AnkiMobile, is that still the case today? And are we expecting a change in the near future perhaps? If not, then does installing an add-on through the PC version allow the add-on to be visible on the iPad?

I’m looking to install the following add-ons as I heard they’re essential. But I’d LOVE to hear what your absolute go-to’s are too! (I’m totally new to all this haha)

• Special Fields
  • Custom Sidebar
  • Image Occlusion
  • Review Heatmap
  • True Retention
  • Hierarchical Tags

Add-ons are only available for the desktop app, but they can have effects on your collection - which will also show on mobile when you sync.

These are the add-ons with effects on mobile:

• Special Fields
  • Image Occlusion Enhanced

These add-ons just show extended stats on the desktop app and do not have any effects on your collection:

• Review Heatmap
  • True Retention

The following add-ons are obsolete, as recent Anki versions have a native implementation of each of their features:

• Customize Sidebar
  • Hierarchical Tags

I’d love to know where you got that list of add-ons from. Were they recommended in a YouTube tutorial?

Add-ons, even really good ones like Image Occlusion, aren’t essential by nature. It really depends on the type of work you want to do with Anki. I recommend you try out the vanilla Anki experience and only install add-ons when you feel the need for them - small things like Review Heatmap can’t do any harm though.

3 Likes

Thank you very much for the swift and conclusive response I really appreciate it! I guess I’ll give the first 4 add-ons you mentioned a try then!