Simple Alternatives to the Built In HTML Editor

I don’t use the editor very often and when I do I’m doing very simple things. The new inline editor is driving me nuts. My 65 year old eyes have a hard time reading all the multicolor text against a black background. I don’t know what it means and I don’t want to learn, and and I can barely read it anyway. The HTML now includes a bunch of confusing % signs and numbers that weren’t there before.
Also closing the new editor drives me nuts as I have to keep fighting ten years of muscle memory to not hit Esc and close the entire window.

Can you elaborate on your use cases for the HTML editor? If you don’t want to learn HTML, one would think there’d be little to no reason to open it anyway :thinking:

4 Likes

I am a retired software engineer who has written or debugged a lot of HTML. I never had any trouble with working with monochrome HML text. Multi-color display only helps people who need help with HTML syntax—people who shouldn’t be editing it anyway. For the rest of us, it just gets in the way.

OK, I should speak for myself—for me (and apparently for pschroeter), it is counter-productive.

And, for what it’s worth, more than one empirical study has shown that dark text on light background is more readable than the reverse.

I believe most developers (experienced or not) actually prefer syntax highlighting :slight_smile:

But I also prefer dark text on light background.

4 Likes

I can understand if people prefer a simpler HTML editor, but this:

… is just gatekeeping. How would anyone learn anything if they were only allowed to do it once they’d mastered it? Editing HTML is not open-heart surgery. :wink:

4 Likes

No need to have “mastered” it before using it, but editing in Anki is not the best place to practice before learning at least a little.