Setting up PyCharm for addon development

I’m having problems following this tutorial: https://addon-docs.ankiweb.net/#/getting-started

When I try to run these commands in the Python console:

import subprocess
subprocess.check_call([“pip”, “install”, “mypy”, “anki”, “ankirspy”, “aqt”])

I get the following output:

Collecting mypy
Using cached mypy-0.780-py3-none-any.whl (1.8 MB)
Collecting anki
Using cached anki-2.1.26-py3-none-any.whl (156 kB)
ERROR: Could not find a version that satisfies the requirement ankirspy (from versions: none)
ERROR: No matching distribution found for ankirspy
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 1, in
File “E:\Python\lib\subprocess.py”, line 347, in check_call
raise CalledProcessError(retcode, cmd)
subprocess.CalledProcessError: Command ‘[‘pip’, ‘install’, ‘mypy’, ‘anki’, ‘ankirspy’, ‘aqt’]’ returned non-zero exit status 1.

I’m new to using the Python console, but I have a basic understanding of what subprocess.check_call does; I just can’t figure out this error. I’m running Windows 10, and I’ve tried this with both Python 3.7.6 (PIP version 19.0.3) and Python 3.6.0 .

1 Like

Try running:

1. subprocess.check_call(["python", "-m", "pip", "uninstall", "mypy", "anki", "ankirspy", "aqt"])
  2. subprocess.check_call(["python", "-m", "pip", "install", "mypy", "anki", "ankirspy", "aqt"])

Do you have pip installed? You can try installing it with subprocess.check_call(["python", "-m", "ensurepip"])

I have pip (20.1.1) installed, checking it in PyCharm works fine. Running those commands didn’t help any; it says mypy, anki, ankirspy, and aqt all weren’t installed, then gives me the same error.

Try install individually each one of the required modules:

1. subprocess.check_call([“python”, “-m”, “pip”, “install”, “mypy”])
  2. subprocess.check_call([“python”, “-m”, “pip”, “install”, “anki”])
  3. subprocess.check_call([“python”, “-m”, “pip”, “install”, “ankirspy”])