Maximally spaced filtered deck order

Hello Damien,

In case of backlogs, I think using randomly filtered decks is not that good. Using the usual scheduling order is not really better because it tends to clump up cards by topic if you create your cards by batch.

I think it would be very nice to have a “maximally spaced” filtered deck option. Basically if you have 1000 due cards and want to do a 100 today. This deck would pick 1 cards every 10 cards of the due order, and show them in random order.

I mentionned this to friends that gave up on anki after huge backlogs and they all found it to be an interesting idea.

What do you think?

Regards.

1 Like

I’m not sure that adds a great deal over a random option, but I will keep an eye on demand for such a feature.

Being a medical student, I end up creating a few cards on one specific nerve, then a few cards on one disease, etc. Randomly picking using a uniform law is, in a way, trying to approximate what I’m suggesting. Just less efficient.

With random decks I end up indeed reviewing most topics of my deck, but with like 10% of reviews that are unecessarily similar to another one. This review is wasted and hurts retention, whereas if those reviews where postponed to the day after it would actually increase retention!

Several friends told me that the biggest frustration they had with anki (to the point that it made them doubtful of it working at all) was having to review cards that are too similar. I think using this filtering option would be a great plus (for example by reviewing only 80% of the daily reviews).

I am actually interested in creating an addon for that but there are no addons that implement new filtering order and I struggled to find the relevant section of the code in recent versions. I only know python but no Rust. If you are not willing to implement this, could you give me instructions on how I could add a new filtering option?

Thanks a lot!