Implementing card linking (I'm open to contributing)

I was interested in potentially implementing an anki add-on for card linking, but I wanted to get your feedback so I have a sense of how difficult it would be. I only have python background though, I think rust would be higher activation energy for me.

So I noticed the FAQ mentions linking cards is not a great idea, due to the extra complexity of inputting cards, and possible under/over-scheduling. I appreciate these difficulties, but… I still think this is a very important feature for spaced repetition systems to get right for use with technical/conceptual material.

I’ve been using anki for a wide variety of subjects for the past several years during my neuroscience PhD – coding, math, biology. It’s been invaluable for me, but I feel like there’s a bit of a hole many people mention, which is that having flashcards being so disjointed can rob you of the context needed for technical cards to sink into your brain. I think having a scheduler that could modify the review status of all cards of topic X after you have forgotten one card in topic X would help address that. Not necessarily abruptly set everything in topic X to forgotten, but to modify it somewhat. And IMO, if you already remember some cards, then re-reviewing them again is very low-time/low-cost.

So I was wondering:

A) Is it possible for me to primarily implement such an add-on in python? Or is this something that would just have to be in Rust, due to the large amount of interfacing with the Rust back-end that would be needed?

B) I’m comfortable with just requiring the users to manually specify the links (but I wouldn’t require this at note input time), but are there any fundamental technical difficulties in implementing a system like this?