I am confused when adding a new card (new user)

I am adding simple cards with a front and back, no images, etc. I put the text in the front field, then in the back field, then click ADD. What happens after i click ADD is that the back field is cleared, but the same text remains in the Front field. And then Anki tells me i have duplicates. I don’t understand why both the front field and back field both aren’t cleared after i click ADD. Is it the expected/normal procedure that to add a new card after clicking ADD, I should manually clear the Front field so that i don’t have duplicates? If so it seems very weird and awkward. But, am i doing something wrong or misunderstanding how this should be done?

You might have accidentally toggled the “pushpin icon” button above the top right corner of the Front field. That is the button that toggles the sticky field feature so Anki doesn’t clear the contents of the field after the note is added.

Indeed so, that is it. Thank you.