Help with a new linking function

Hi everyone!

I’m trying to find a way to link cards from separate decks to each other so that they can share and display the same content.

In practice: I have multiple standard language decks, each containing flashcards with a front (foreign word) and a back (English translation). What I want to achieve is that all foreign translations are shown when I flip the card, not just the English one, so I can simultaneously review the same word in 3+ languages.

Example:

• Front = “huis” // a random Dutch word
  • Back = “house” // its English translation
  • New field = “Haus”, “Maison”, “…” // German, French, … translations

The new field should appear automatically if the corresponding flashcards have already been created.
I believe the translations should be easy to retrieve as they all share the same back (“house”).

I am just a beginner at programming, but this is how I’m thinking to develop an add-on with Python:

• searching for cards that contain the same back field as the current card (“house”);
  • append the corresponding fronts to a list (“Haus”, “Maison”, …);
  • update each card to display the list in the new field during review.

Do you think this is feasible? Am I on the right track? Is there any simpler way to achieve this, if there’s any way at all?
If it’s too complicated I might consider investing some money to develop this feature, but I would love it if I could manage it by myself :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for any tip you might have!

Are you familiar with how card generation works already?

https://docs.ankiweb.net/getting-started.html#notes--fields

Hi! I think I am familiar with the basics of cards generation (at least based on what I read from your link)… or am I missing something that could help me solve this issue? (I.e. retrieving field information from specific cards and displaying it in other cards)