Built-in TTS html problems

Hello,
I currently have a separate deck for different languages they are all the same except the text to speech language is different in every notetype. I use the internal anki text to speech that looks like this: {{tts ru-RU voices=Apple_Milena_(Enhanced):Front}} It works perfectly. I wanted to merge all of those notetypes into one. So to make it dynamic and depending on the subdeck the card is in to give me different tts with the variable {{Subdeck}}. So basically a different tts should be triggered for each language.

I tried a lot but nothing seems to work. I read most forums and even html articles/guides even though im not a programmer. i even tried to hide the tts that should not be activated with „display:none;“ but nothing seems to work. Anki seems to ignore the html formatting completely and it always triggeres the audio of all tts thats included on the frontside without checking any formatting.

I am mainly using anki on my iphone. Unfortunately it misses some features so i have to switch to laptop for certain stuff.

Also because of this i dont want to use any addons but instead the integrated tts which works perfectly so far.

Does anyone know of a way to change the tts thats being triggered depending on the subdeck? Is it even possible? I would be incredibly greatful for any help. If this works i have a single ultimate notetype for everything.

Things i tried (Im not a programmer):

{{#Subdecks}}
{{#is test1}}
{{tts en_US:Front}}
{{else}}
{{#is test2}}
{{tts es_ES:Front}}
{{/is}}
{{/is}}
{{/Subdecks}}

(With this i get error messages its possible my syntax is wrong)

(Then i tried a script but anki always triggers both tts)

Looking forward for your reply :blush:

1 Like