Why does Anki display study time in months?

It says I studied 2.31 months. But a month has between 28 and 31 days. Why not minutes and hours? Or even days.

1 Like

The rationale is that a period like “8.2 months” is easier to understand as “8 and a bit months” than “245 days” or “5903 hours” is.

4 Likes

2.31 months ranges from 1552.32 hours to 1718.64 hours

but

70.33 days is always 1687.92 hours

days is easier to understand

Maybe something like XX days (~YY months) could work?

I see no reason why the user would need to consider that when answering the card. The times shown on the buttons are there to give you a quick idea of the approximate timeframe. They do not need such precision.

4 Likes

Oh, it’s for the buttons. I agree then. In fact, I would prefer if it’d be hidden by default. People tend to worry about time more than necessary, and I think if the user wants to know the time between reviewsz they can find the setting to show it.

1 Like

Re-reading the original post, it looks like I was incorrectly assuming this was about the buttons, and not the message shown at the bottom of the deck list / top of the stats. I’m still not sure the precision is needed in such cases (what would you use it for?), but it’s perhaps not as clear-cut as the buttons case.

1 Like

Oh, I was referring to the stats. Yeah, for buttons It doesn’t matter.

1 Like

I agree when you first start out. But I think Anki’s algorithm starts to break down after several years of use. A difference of a month or a week is not so big. But when the difference of hitting either 2 or 3 means either seeing the card 1 year in the future or 3 years, that’s when seeing the button time matters.