Packaging Anki Desktop for aarch64 Alpine Linux (Postmarket OS)

Dear Damien,

first of all, thanks for creating Anki. I’ve been using it for ~6 years now, and it’s so brilliant, I can’t imagine how I would live without it!

Background:
So far I’ve used AnkiDroid on my phone, but recently I bought a Pinephone and I would like to run Anki on it. I’ve already created a package for 2.1.15 (without rust, using Makefiles) and it works really well on my phone and it’s already in the alpine repos. But since there have been >20 new versions since then, I think I’ll eventually have to support the newest build system. I haven’t worked with bazel until now, and I’m stunned by its complexity.
I’m using the latest version from git, because according to [1] you’ve already improved the support for new platforms.

Problem description:
I’m currently stuck at the very beginning. I run scripts/build but it tries to download node (npm?) from the internet. I have node and npm installed from the alpine repos, but I can’t figure out for the live of me how to convince bazel to use the local version from /usr/bin. I’ve looked at ./docs/new-platform.md and [2] but it seems that that is referring to a version that is installed in a subdirectory of bazel’s workspace, but not system-wide. Do you have any idea how this could be achieved?

[1] Compiling Anki 2.1.38 for Raspberry Pi 4/400 with Ubuntu 20.10 (architecture: aarch64)
[2] rules_nodejs - Installation

The following happens, when I run bazel build -s //qt:runanki:

Extracting Bazel installation...
Starting local Bazel server and connecting to it...
WARNING: Download from https://mirror.bazel.build/nodejs.org/dist/v12.13.0/node-v12.13.0-linux-arm64.tar.xz failed: class com.google.devtools.build.lib.bazel.repository.downloader.UnrecoverableHttpException GET returned 404 Not Found
INFO: Repository npm instantiated at:
  /home/mo/devel/anki/anki-git/WORKSPACE:14:11: in <toplevel>
  /home/mo/devel/anki/anki-git/defs.bzl:46:17: in setup_deps