Help for creating an add-on

Hi all,

I am curious if any of you is interested in writing an add-on which might improve learning dramatically. I am a medical doctor having done a lot of research in learning mechanism. Therefore I would have an improvement to make concerning cloze cards. Unfortunately I am not a programmer and I never worked with python. So my question is, is there anybody interested in writing an add-on according to my knowledge of learning mechanisms? The changes would be very small and therefore I suppose not hard or time consuming to write. It would involve adding a button and showing cloze fields while pressing the button and hiding the cloze if not pressing the button.

That would be awesome !!! Otherwise I have to go the hard way :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot

This is an interesting idea. Can you list some research articles on the matter? I’d like to learn more. I’m just getting started in Anki add-on creation so I’m no expert but I have a little bit of coding experience and might be interested in helping.

1 Like

Hey, thanks for your reply and your interest. I just want to sum up some of the research and my ideas with those. As there is limited research that I could find on the learning situation with Anki or equivalent pieces of software itself, when it comes to details on how to use or modify learning with Anki, one has to draw your own conclusions from the literature on different learning settings and apply them to the Anki scenario.

So I am speaking of Anki and Cloze Deletions for the time being. So I want to break down what happens when you learn with this card preset.

1. The card will be presented to you and on the card and there is one or more cloze deletions.

2. You try to memorize the missing word

3. You hit the answer button and you find out, if you knew the answer or not.

4. Depending on the result you, the card will be presented to you again in a certain time.

Now I want to comment on the different steps.