Custom Field are Missing, Deck suddenly using Default Basic

I created 49 custom Fields for a Spanish Vocabulary deck that I have been using for many years. I recently updated the Anki application and now all my custom Fields for that Deck are missing for any new card I add to the deck. The Fields are all still there for all the old cards in the deck, but they are missing for any new card I add to the deck. The only Fields I have now when adding a new card to the deck are the default “front” and “back” fields that one starts out with when creating a new deck. What is the best way to fix this? Card templates and styling are also set back to their default values again. I thought all the Field and card information was saved in the backup file when you create a full backup to you computer using Anki’s Export function.

I’m using Anki version 2.1.49 on Windows 10 x64 20H2.

Sorry if I’m asking something too obvious, but did you choose the right note type?

4 Likes

I don’t see it listed anywhere. There are a bunch of note types in there that I did not create. I 'm not sure how those note types got in there. They must be from some old decks that I imported that someone else created. I don’t see my note type anywhere. Is there a way to recreate it when viewing one of the old cards in the deck?

If you still have card that looks correct you can, when editing, click on the cards button and then you should be able to see the notetype it uses as well as the code behind it.

browse --> select card --> Cards

3 Likes

That was the problem! I found my note type. It was called Basic-dbf84. Now the problem is it will not remember my note type. It starts out on Basic ever time I try to add a new card to the deck.

Is there a way to make the note type I used for the deck the default note type for that deck? It does not make any sense for it to revert back to Anki’s default Basic every time.