Connection to Anki Database in Java

Dear all,

I’m relatively new to Anki, so I hope it ist ok for you if I ask this question here.

I did a lot of google-research, but I haven’t found an answer to one fundamental question so far.

Anki is a great software, I really like it … for my purposes, I created large decks to practise English and French.

I’d like to aminister these decks programmtically, i. e. to add new entries, modify/update existing entries and so on … and I’d like to do it using Java, my Python knowledge is only fundamental.

So far, I’ve found the Ankidroid source here

AnkiDroid at Github, here: DB.java

Here

at javatips.net

I’ve found a version of AnkiDb.java which seems to be a liitle bit older … but it must be something like this:

mDatabase = new SQLiteDataSource(config);
mDatabase.setUrl("jdbc:sqlite:" + ankiFilename);

But I can’t figure out how to indicate the correct database adress … and how to provide the ankinet-password?

I’m a Java-programmer, and I’m going to do this on a Linux system (SuSe Leap 15.2) … the operating system has SQLite-Drivers, and I’m able to figure out the necessary SQL-statements on my own. I have a SWING-Dialog which can mask the password … but I can’t figure out how to establish the database connection.

So I would really appreciate your help if you’d give me an answer … maybe a link, it is possible that I’ve overlooked which has been solved in the forum here … or a piece of Python code which I can “translate” into Java code …

Thanks in advance and kind regards, Frank

I don’t know much about how AnkiDroid accesses the database, but I think you can use the standard JDBC API along with a SQLite JDBC driver like this one.

Assuming the Anki database file is collection.anki2 (as it’s stored in your profile folder), you can start by making a connection to it using something like this:

Connection conn = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:sqlite:collection.anki2");