Changing Anki Scheduling to Fixed Intervals instead of Multiplicative

Hey there everyone,

Please excuse any poor English, I’m still learning!

I’ve been using the regular Anki scheduling with minor tweaks for about 5 years now, and I’ve come to the conclusion it’s not how I learn. Cards show up far too infrequently for me to really concretize the information.

Using default deck options / custom scheduling, is there a way to set Anki to use fixed intervals instead of multiplicative ones? For example, instead of seeing this when reviewing:

1st review
Answer Good - 10 days

2nd review (10 days have passed since 1st review)
Answer Good - 25 days

3rd review (25 days have passed since 2nd review)
Answer Good - 2 months

I’d like it to add a set number of days to the interval, say +5 days each time I answer “Good”.

Fixed Interval

1st review
Answer Good - 10 days

2nd review (10 days have passed since 1st review)
Answer Good - 15 days

3rd review (15 days have passed since 2nd review)
Answer Good - 20 days

I essentially want “Easy” to add 15 days to the pre-existing interval, “Good” to add 5 days, and “Hard” to keep the same interval. Is this possible using default settings or the Custom Scheduling?

Thanks everyone who takes the time to look at this and/or answer it!

While there might be a way to achieve this using custom scheduling, I wouldn’t advise it. It’s not efficient. I would recommend you to take a look at FSRS, it allows you to adjust intervals based on desired retention aka how much you want to remember. You can set high desired retention to make all cards appear frequently.

Thanks for the fast response @Expertium, I appreciate it! I’m looking into now, but FSRS retention prediction also seems a bit overkill for my learning goals. Wouldn’t FSRS also attempt to modulate / grow those intervals?

Yes, intervals will grow.

Very similar to FSRS with the w9 twisted to the maximum