Another blank main window solution for Linux

I was running into an issue with the blank main window being blank on my Anki install (Debian 12, Anki installed via pip, phosh as DE and Wayland as the compositor). None of the solutions worked that are presented in Blank Main Window - Anki Manual . I ended up finding my solution deep in the bash_history of an old machine. I don’t know where I originally got it from and I can’t find any mention in google. If I had to guess, it was originally posted in the old forum which got deleted?

Anyway, the solution that worked was setting:
export QTWEBENGINE_DISABLE_SANDBOX=1

This worked for me when the other solutions did not (QTWEBENGINE_CHROMIUM_FLAGS="--no-sandbox" and anki --no-sandbox).

Please update Blank Main Window - Anki Manual to link to this post as well.

2 Likes

Thanks, I’ve updated the page.

Hello, I’m not technically inclined enough to understand where I should try setting " export QTWEBENGINE_DISABLE_SANDBOX=1". Could you tell me where you set this? Is this modification at my anki or linux itself?
While I’m at it, is “QTWEBENGINE_CHROMIUM_FLAGS="--no-sandbox" and anki --no-sandbox” another modification I add on top of " export QTWEBENGINE_DISABLE_SANDBOX=1"?

Hoping to run Anki 2.1.49 on Linux Fedora 38 for an add-on that has the functionality to filter Japanese phrases from films and such, to only show phrases with no unknown words. Wanted to mention this since it doesn’t seem like people are using Morphman this way. Really good to practice your listening skills

@yki I’m assuming you’re getting a blank screen and the other solutions did not work? I set the variable QTWEBENGINE_DISABLE_SANDBOX=1 only because the other methods didn’t work.

Could you tell me where you set this? Is this modification at my anki or linux itself?

It depends on how you run Anki. Do you type anki in your shell to run Anki? In that case it would be sufficient to set the variable in your bashrc file.