Anki card settings are getting re-written everytime i close out of anki or sync to ankihub

Was running into issue on my cards not auto-revealing special fields and I found a solution but everytime i sync or close out of anki it gets re-written to the previous issue. Listed below is the code.

// ############## SHOW HINTS AUTOMATICALLY ##############
var ButtonAutoReveal = {
“Lecture Notes” : false,
“Missed Questions” : false,
“Pathoma” : false,
“Boards and Beyond” : false,
“First Aid” : false,
“Sketchy” : false,
“Sketchy 2”: false,
“Sketchy Extra”: false,
“Picmonic”: false,
“Pixorize” : false,
“Physeo” : false,
“Bootcamp” : false,
“OME” : false, // not currently a button
“Additional Resources” : false,
}

If i manually switch those to “true” it autoreveals the special fields, but they go away. Is there a fix to this without doing this everytime i log in or is there a setting out there where it stays collapsed until clicked. In tools > manage note type > AnkingOverhaul (yes it is the correct note type) > fields, the checkbox for “collapse by default” is not clicked.

Thanks everyone

Is this on the card templates? It sounds like your AnKing/AnkiHub syncing/updating is overwriting your changes. [You can verify this by turning off automatic syncing to see if the settings stick.] You should check with them about how to maintain your own settings and still get updates.

That won’t impact your cards. It’s a setting for the Add Note window, and Note Editor – whether a field is open for you to type in, or collapsed by default (so you can Tab past it).
image

1 Like