Accidental sync overwrite - Need server backup restore

Hello,

I am in a major emergency—I have a massive deadline tomorrow and accidentally completely wiped out my Anki account.

I just downloaded Anki Desktop onto a new computer today. While setting it up, I accidentally synced an empty local profile to AnkiWeb and selected the option to overwrite the server. This completely deleted the massive collection of decks I already had stored online on AnkiWeb.

Because this is a brand new device installation, I don’t have any local backups on this computer to restore from.

Could a staff member please look at my server-side history for my account (xiennadeng@gmail.com) and roll it back to the snapshot from yesterday or right before today’s accidental sync?

Thank you so much, I am incredibly stressed about my exam tomorrow and appreciate any urgent help.


Server-side backups are made much less frequently than local backups on a device with one of the apps installed. The most recent server-side backup of your account was made on 18 August, so it will be out of date with any changes or studying you’ve done since then, and it will overwrite the collection that is currently in your account. Please confirm if you want me to restore that to your account.

Yes please. Thanks!

I’ve restored that to your account. On your next sync, select download from AnkiWeb.