4 column Spanish Vocab Deck

I have a master Excel file with 4 columns (GUID, Article, Spanish, English). Currently there are 1994 rows in the file (more will be added or changed every day as I work my way through Duolingo). To export the Excel xlsx file to a UTF-8 text file, I do the following:

1. From Excel, “File / Save As” to a Unicode Text file

2. Open the text file with Notepad and add my File Header Keys (#guid column:x and #columns:w x y z)

I made this easier by using “#guid column:1 #columns:GUID” as my GUID column header in Excel.

In the text file, I just have to split the first line to get what you see below. The column names are already properly tab separated.

3. From Notepad, “File / Save as” changing the Encoding to UTF-8

4. Import the UTF-8 text file into Anki

Here are a few rows from the top of the file I imported into Anki…
#guid column:1
#columns:GUID Article Spanish English
e7689ce3-3c01-ba14-015e-25bf6c4d2bfb . ¡Guácala! “gross, yuck, ew”
ae4b516f-27ab-6b3e-35fd-474a2d161fff . ¿Cómo está? How are you? (formal)
a317659a-d86e-dc18-6c5b-b934ebc31625 . abandonar to abandon
cca79ecb-e42f-13aa-3e15-b1355847360c . abierto / a open
86292255-26f2-9049-548b-10d09192c48b el/la abogado / a lawyer
b75fcaa5-39cb-cf97-7523-a51cc8042faf el abrigo coat

Note Type:
My Note Type started as a new “Basic (and reversed card)”.

Fields:
GUID is an Excel generated GUID. I intended for this to be used to keep my cards unique and to allow me to import new cards and to import changes for existing cards. By trial and error, I found that I needed to NOT define GUID as a Field in my Note Type. It also appears that the GUID could be any column so long as “#guid column:x” matches.