Vendor has flagged this as malicious

Hello,

I am new to this product as it was recently suggested to me as a good learning tool -
Before I install anything I usually run it through VirusTotal and doing so I’ve noticed that I see the following for both Qt6 & Qt5:

1 security vendor flagged this file as malicious
Jiangmin Backdoor.Androm.bdka

(I had to take out the first part of the virustotal URL as it would not allow me to include a link in this post)
Qt6: /gui/file/02d992a47fe826254b3dc707226d9d06c006f3fa0dc1e66c9e47767316896ed9/detection

Qt5: /gui/file/0fecc6c5e51174431e209377f4eaed6a52cd2648fdafb3e79e6f6eb6cd3f461a

Any advice or plans for remediation?

Thanks,
Matt K.

I guess the official position is: My antivirus program says Anki is infected! - Frequently Asked Questions

virustotal is even “worse”. If 50 engines check the file and each antivirus program has a false detection rate of only 1% there’s an about 40% chance to get at least one false positive …

It’s also interesting that it’s always the same one engine that reports having found a virus:

• for 2.1.65 the virustotal report is at VirusTotal
  • for 2.1.55 from 2022-12 the virustotal report is at VirusTotal

I guess it’s likelier that one engine has false positives than all other engines not finding a virus (even after weeks of having access to the positive result from jiangmin which should have prompted them to recheck the binary …)

there are may threads about how to handle virustotal reports in this forum or the anki subreddit. you could also search sites like https://security.stackexchange.com/ to find out how to make sense of virustotal results in general.

In the end you must make the decision that’s right for you.

I guess there’s no binary distinction between safe-unsafe/untrusted but it’s always a question of how much you trust software.

Many people here have been using Anki for years and trust it and are not deterred by such reports. I have installed Anki 2.1.65 on my machine.