Regular Expressions (RegEx) — Cheat Sheet?

Is there a data base somewhere of RegEx expressions that can be used in Anki’s Card Browser?

Eg (kindly provided by user Rumo):

Word count between x and y

"field:re:^\s*\S+(?:\s+\S+){x,y}\s*$"

I found this very helpful; but I’m a noob

For instance, how would the above RegEx expression have to be modified to also work with Cloze fields, that have not-to-be-counted hint words within the curly brackets?

Maybe Chapter 7 of Automate the Boring Stuff with Python can help you get the gist of regex?

Keep in mind that newer versions of Anki use a slightly different regex syntax.

There is actually several cheat sheets out there, but frankly? Just learn the basics and you’ll get independence of them.

1 Like

Well, I don’t think I got what you wanted, but maybe someone else can enhance this regex?

^\s*((\S+)|(\{\{(\s*\S*?)\:(\s*\S*?)\:(\s*\S*?)?\}\}))(?:\s+((\S+)|(\{\{(\s*\S*?)\:(\s*\S*?)\:(\s*\S*?)?\}\}))){x,y}\s*$

btw, there are also sites where you can write your regex interactively.

Edit: fixed the code.

Regex search in recent Anki versions uses Rust’s regex engine, as @cardosaum mentioned. Since Rust’s regex engine doesn’t seem to currently support arbitrary lookahead/lookbehind assertions, it might be difficult to sort out cards by word count while excluding hints in cloze deletions.

Another option to achieve what you want would be to use Anki’s debug console. Try the following:

• Let’s say you want to get cards whose Text field has 3-5 words, excluding hints in cloze deletions.

• Change the value of target_field, min_word_count and max_word_count in the following code to suit your needs. If you want to limit the search to a specific deck, change the value of search_query to something like search_query = f'"{target_field}:*" "deck:your deck name"'. (the same syntax as the browser search)

import re
    from anki.utils import ids2str, stripHTML

target_field = "Text"
    min_word_count = 3
    max_word_count = 5