Pre-load the back side of the card

Hello, Anki forum!
I would like to share an improvement proposal.
It takes some time to render HTML of the Back side of the card (especially if it has embedded elements).
I believe we can improve user experience if the Back side of the card is pre-uploaded as soon as the Front side of the card is shown. So that the back side is fully rendered as soon as we press Show button.
I’ve created a screencast to better explain the proposal:

1 Like

Hey Anatolii, thanks for posting this, I was about to submit a feature request related to this too.

@dae, @hengiesel Is this something that would be difficult to implement?
(Forgive me if I’m wrong, I’m no programmer myself.)

If not pre-loading the whole back of the card, could you enable pre-loading any images or media that is present in the back of the card? I ask this because I have a pretty alright computer, yet it takes a noticeable amount of time to render images that are stored locally when I flip the card. (Though this is prominent only with higher-res images)

Interestingly, I don’t notice such a delay when reviewing the same cards with AnkiDroid. Though I’m unsure if that’s because my phone uses solid-state storage versus my computer’s hard-drive; or because AnkiDroid preloads the images.

Are you on Windows? I recently switched to Linux and was quite surprised to see Anki performing almost as well on my Laptop as on my phone.

The problem with Windows

On Windows, Anki’s webview seems to suffer from memory leaks, regardless which video driver you choose, so it will most likely perform poorly compared to macOS or Linux.

Regarding the delay for the back side:

The load time depends on your template.
You should be able to reduce the delay if you defer the loading of your images (and iframes) to the end of the event loop with setTimeout(). Here is an example for images: