How to put a random field inside a div with a script?

Hello.
I have 5 fields with different sentences called Sentece1, Sentece2, Sentece3, Sentece4 and Sentece5.

I need to write a script that displays only one random field inside the div with id="sentence" based on the randomly generated number (from 1 to 5).

<div id="sentence"></div>

Neither of these scripts works:

<script>
	number = 2; //some random number
	sentence = `{{Sentence${number}}}`;
	document.getElementById('sentence').innerHTML = sentence;
</script>
<script>
	number = 2; //some random number
	sentence = '{{Sentence' + number + '}}';
	document.getElementById('sentence').innerHTML = sentence;
</script>

How to fix it? Am I doing something wrong?

I reckon the problem with your script is that Anki tries to replace the expression in brackets with a field value before the javascript is run. Thus, the field doesn’t exist (yet). But I’m still new to js and very hazy on the internals of Anki as well, so there may well be a better solution.

I don’t see any reason why the following shouldn’t work for you, but I’d be interested in using a more elegant solution myself as well.

<div class="sentence" hidden>{{Sentence1}}</div>
<div class="sentence" hidden>{{Sentence2}}</div>
<div class="sentence" hidden>{{Sentence3}}</div>

<script>

const fields = [...document.querySelectorAll(".sentence")];

function randomInt(max) {
		return Math.floor(Math.random() * max);
	}		
	rand = randomInt(fields.length)

fields[rand].hidden = false;

</script>

Do you need to show the same random sentence on both sides of the card? It’s possible but obviously less straightforward than the code above.

3 Likes

Thanks. But for some reason, I can’t make your script to run on the back of the card. None of the hidden fields are being revealed with any number I try to use. Your script works only on the front side of the card but not on the back. Does it work for you on both sides?