How to change from onclick to keydown javascript

Hey, could someone please help me modify this script to change it from functioning onclick but instead to function on the pressing of a specific key which I can modify?

<div id="word" style="display:none">{{Back}}</div>

<div id="reveal"></div>

<button id="hint-btn" onclick="revealNext()">Next letter</button>

<script>
var nextChar = 1
var word = document.getElementById("word").innerText

function revealNext() {
   if (nextChar <= word.length) {
      document.getElementById("reveal").innerText = word.substring(0, nextChar++)
   }
}
</script>

I would recommend reading the appropriate documentation. If you have any specific question about it, feel free to ask.

Hi thanks for the quick reply.
I have no experience with coding
Could you help me?

Of course! You’ll see, it’s actually very simple.

The first difference between detecting a mouse clicking event vs keyboard key presses (in your case at least) is that mouse clicks events are bound to a particular area of the DOM, that is, if you click on the tag with the onclick=... attribute it will do something, but if you click somewhere else, it won’t, whereas with keyboard events, you can just detect whether the user presses a key, no matter where their mouse is (to keep it simple). This means that the event trigger will no longer be bound to a particular DOM element, so the first step is removing the onclick=... attribute. We won’t need that anymore:

<div id="reveal"></div>

<button id="hint-btn">Next letter</button>

<script>
var nextChar = 1

function revealNext() {
   }
}
</script>

Now, we just need to add the wanted event listener, with

document.addEventListener('keydown', onKey);

function onKey(e) {
    if (e.key === "a") {
        revealNext();
    }
}