Element which stores the solution typed by the user

Hi!

I am quite new to Anki. So, I am not entirely sure if this is the correct place to ask. Please direct me to the correct place, if this is wrong. Thanks :slight_smile:

So, I am coming from Memrise and found this cards template which mimics the behaviour of Memrise in Anki: GitHub - Eltaurus-Lt/Anki-Card-Templates: Decks of templates + source code for Anki cards
(Support Thread here in the Forum)

Basically, it generates a multiple choice test with a button for each option. If I click the button, the solution is supposed to function as the solution instead of manually typing.

However, it does not really work on the iOS App. It looks all good, but the buttons do not seem to work. I did some debugging and found out that on the Android there seems to be an element with the id typeans which is where the card stores the result of the button push (I assume usually, the typed answer by the user would be stored in this element). Using this element, the card checks whether the user clicked the correct word or not.
On the iOS App, on the front side of the card, there is no element with this id (I tired to check, there does not seem to be anything with a similar id). That means, when I push a button nothing happens. When I go to the backside of the card, the element typeans is suddenly there. But then, I don’t need it anymore, because I am already on the backside.

Essentially, my question is: Is there an element which stores the currently typed answer by the user which I could use to get the card template working on iOS? (Or is it a bug that the typeans element is not there?)

Thanks in advance! Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask!

2 Likes