I accidentally deleted some but not all cards from anking and then synced it. None of the recovery methods are working for me - when I click to reset all local changes, I only see the Getting started with anki deck, not the anking deck to restore them. When I try to restore from a backup, I do not see any dates with times to restore. If I completely redownload Anking, will it fix the problem? Will it mess up my progress with other Anking cards? Is there a reason my anking deck would not be visible when I go to anki hub?
If you had those notes/cards on this device before you deleted them, the backup closest in time before you deleted them is the one you want.
The ways to go back before an error are always the same –
- If you want to roll-back changes you’ve made just now (and haven’t closed or synced since then) – Edit > Undo [Ctrl Z] the change. [If you select it from the menu, Anki will describe which change it is reversing with each click (useful when you can’t see it happening!).]
- If you want to roll-back changes made longer ago than that – Option A: Restore from an automatic or manual backup [but you’ll lose any reviews and changes you’ve made since that backup was created].
- If you just want to grab one thing from a backup (like the text of a template, or one deck out of many, or a set of notes/cards that use a particular note type), you can minimize data loss by importing the backup into a brand new (temporary) profile, find what you’re looking for, copy/export it, and then import it into your main profile.
- If you want to roll-back changes made longer ago than that – Option B: Force a one-way sync and download from AnkiWeb [but you’ll lose any reviews and changes you’ve made since your last sync].